Just Do It

9 Jan

New Year’s Reality Check

Another year, another chance

To start our lives anew;
This time we’ll leap old barriers
To have a real breakthrough.

We’ll take one little step

And then we’ll take one more,
Our unlimited potential
We’ll totally explore.

We’ll show off all our talents

Everyone will be inspired;
(Whew! While I’m writing this,
I’m getting very tired.)

We’ll give up all bad habits;

We’ll read and learn a lot,

All our goals will be accomplished,
Sigh…or maybe not.

Oh well, Happy New Year anyway!

By Joanna Fuchs

I found this poem online and thought it was cute-it doesn’t put too much pressure on you to accomplish that long list of goals…but inspires you to try. Trying is what it is all about. However my New Year’s motto this year is “just do it”! There are so many things I start and NEVER finish and I am tired of being reminded of that. I get a bright idea and get so excited about it but then another idea comes about and the old one is put on the back burner. No more of that this year! I will wrap up loose ends and not start anything new (well drastically new anyways) until I finish my loose ends from last year. What are these loose ends you ask? They range from organization to crafts to career goals. Here is a small list:

– 5K: Sign up for one already and kick that butt in gear (belated honeymoon/one year anniversary is quickly approaching! Yay!

– Save $ (this is on going every year but I feel good about it this year). I know that staying home and being frugal brings more happiness than the alternative.

– Put my invitation design on Etsy and see what happens. I have had a lot of super supportive friends tell me to try it and I hesitate because in my head they are not up to par. How on earth will I succeed with that mindset! Just do it Ashley and see what happens….

– Keep blogging and learn more about the technical aspect of it (ie. WordPress and all of it’s glory)

– Finish Cold Mountain! My friend Nealy lent this to me forever ago and it is still sitting on my nightstand. Part of me knows what is going to happen because I saw the movie and I am trying to stop it from happening in the book, haha.

– Network more. This is so crucial to my career and for making friends.

– Post up more of my wedding craft tutorials. I am starting to think this blog should be called “Ashley’s Random Ramblings”

– Call Time Warner Cable and cancel Showtime and MAKE them lower my bill. It is time for me to grow some and call the evil entity known as TWC. I wish we could get Dish but our beautiful trees make it impossible.

These are a few loose ends from last year…

As far as new goals and projects the list is neverending…here are a few that excite me but must wait until the loose ends are complete!

– House DIY projects (refinish cabinets, frame in the bathroom mirrors, paint guest bath, re-paint guest room, garden, fix up garage into workspace). Measure and draw up plans of house (that is the Type A in me coming out). John and I are going to make a master wishlist of things we want to do this year.

– Crafts and DIY projects: refinish an old chair, build a headboard, paint my thriftstore mirror, learn how to felt, finish some earrings I started)

– volunteer: I really want to get involved with Goodwill or Habitat for Humanity

– Visit more museums. I LOVE doing this but never make time for it.

– Spend more time with my friends and family. Sometimes I get so caught up in work, school and just sitting at home (my happy place) that I let months go by without seeing those closest to me. Not a good way to live!

That pretty much scrapes the surface. I know I am setting myself up for failure on a couple of these…if anything I will at least try. For most I hope to just do it and ENJOY it in the process.

What New Years Resolutions do you have? Have you made a list? Did you write it out or is it in your noggin? Does one resolution end up on your list year after year? What is stopping you from tackling it?

2011 is going to be what you make of it. Plain and simple. Enjoy life, love and the people closest to you. Peace out homies.

Leave a Reply

